The Woman in the Window

The Woman in the Window

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
86
5
4
 …

"Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing." --Gillian Flynn

"Unputdownable." --Stephen King

"A dark, twisty confection." --Ruth Ware

"Absolutely gripping." --Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn't paranoia if it's really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone--a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, mother, their teenaged son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn't, her world begins to crumble--and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one--and nothing--is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780062799555
9780062678416
Characteristics: 427 pages ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

forbesrachel Nov 25, 2018

The story of Anna Fox is an engaging thriller that plays on our fears of isolation, mental stability, and the dangers that lie beyond the safety of our homes (specifically the neighbours). While the twists are easy to see coming, Finn's writing style still makes it exciting to watch unfold. Anna herself makes for an interesting protagonist too. As a psychologist, she is uniquely situated. She understands that the actions she is taking to deal with her agoraphobia, and trauma are not healthy, but she does them anyways. Which means that every time she tries to make a connection, or to take a step, is a victory that we can cheer for. Her innate sense of duty, and need to help others, ultimately pushes her out the door, both figuratively and literally. Between this and her flaws, she is a likeable character, with an educated, although sometimes unstable point of view. Anna's intelligence, to some degree, tricks us into agreeing with her view of matters, but her "investigation" into the Russell's, and the disappearance of the woman she met, gradually reveal how unreliable a narrator she is. Tension builds nicely along with this realization. The last thing to note about the author's style, is the good use of red herrings, foreshadowing, and especially, irony. Several major plot points are eluded too, and many end up being ironic. Overall, this is an easy one to get into, even if it is not the most surprising.

f
flowell
Nov 13, 2018

Intriguing and creepy so kept my interest but ultimately kind of silly, especially as it closed in on the end.

h
heidijoemonty
Nov 08, 2018

Great book... very suspenseful and it reads very quickly. I figured out one of the twists early on, but it didn't ruin the story for me. Excellent ending!

o
olioli
Nov 05, 2018

Read October 2018

j
jessebraydon
Nov 04, 2018

The Woman in the Window, has helped shaped the 'Gone Girl' or 'Women in Psychological Thriller' Genres significantly. This is a delightful, mysterious, hard to put down page turner that keeps you guessing all the way through to it's final shocking twists. Read this if you like Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train or Sharp Objects.

l
leslyls
Nov 01, 2018

I enjoy these psychological thrillers- not too much physical drama but keeps you on your toes mentally. It did build up slowly but the story that unfolds keeps you engrossed. The end surprises you and the book keeps you entertained.

k
kimbraun2
Oct 20, 2018

It kept me interested just enough not to stop reading it. It is a little slow but makes you curious about where its going. Then BAM...you read one page and you cant stop because you NEED to know everything else.

s
SuzeParker
Oct 13, 2018

This book has a slow build. The pacing seemed patterned after the classic black-and-white psychological thrillers liberally referenced throughout the book. Considering the main character, Anna Fox, is a former child psychologist and a current agoraphobic who has little else to do inside her house all day than ply herself with pills and Merlot, watch those old black-and-white thrillers, play chess online and spy on her neighbors, it took some doing to keep the book moving at all, so points to the author for that. When no action is happening (pill-counting, anyone?), the pages drag by. When there's action, though, the book pulled me in and got really interesting.

Anna is an unreliable narrator, to be sure. She is deeply depressed and isn't even sure she can trust herself or her own eyes. And she certainly doesn't know what to believe - at least at first - when the police find no evidence of the murder she claims to have witnessed. Adding to the disquiet is that the other characters in the book are rarely what they seem at first to be.

While I guessed the first big twist long before it was revealed, the ending caught me by surprise. All in all, a decent debut - and one I could easily see made into a movie with a black-and-white feel.

0
0007548100dmw
Oct 08, 2018

One of the best books I have read. Full of suspense and tension for the entire book. Very surprise ending.

k
kaylee_schipani
Sep 19, 2018

This was honestly the first psychological thrillers that I've read and I was on the edge of my seat. I love how the author makes you feel like you're on the mental journey with the narrator, a shut-in struggling from a trauma. She has so many side-conversations with herself and it challenges you to keep up with the fast pace of her anxiety. The entire time I was going back and forth trying to figure out whether or not everything was really happening or if it was all conjured up in the narrator's head. I knew the ending was going to be intense, but the entire story had a great build throughout and a satisfying ending you're sure to love!! (No spoilers:)

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

ArapahoeMaryA Aug 23, 2018

'Help,' I shout, only it’s a whisper, creeping through my throat on tiptoe, smearing itself across my tongue. 'He-elp,' I try again; this time my teeth bite into it, sparks raining from my mouth as though I’ve chewed a live wire, and my voice catches like a fuse, explodes. I scream.

p
Pigmama6
Jul 01, 2018

"As Bernard Shaw said, I often quote myself; it adds spice to the conversation. As Shaw also said, alcohol is the anesthesia by which we endure the operation of life. Good old Shaw."

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

"Watching is like nature photography: You don't interfere with the wildlife.” - p. 4

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“I have a feeling that inside you somewhere, there’s something nobody knows about.”
 —Shadow of a Doubt (1943)

c
cknightkc
Apr 11, 2018

“My head was once a filing cabinet. Now it’s a flurry of papers, floating on a draft.”

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

j
jessebraydon
Nov 04, 2018

jessebraydon thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

r
red_fox_1318
Jun 04, 2018

red_fox_1318 thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

PimaLib_DavidaL May 17, 2018

PimaLib_DavidaL thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

brihawkins13 Mar 21, 2018

brihawkins13 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

j
JGesellchen
Jul 09, 2018

May 2018 Book Club

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top